Our people

Our qualified teams of caring professionals deliver expert therapeutic care in a safe and supportive environment to help you through your recovery journey. For information regarding treatment at Wesley Hospital, complete an admission enquiry form or call us on 1300 924 522

Helpful links

Lead clinicians

Wesley Hospitals’ leading professors cover our core treatment programs: eating disorders, mood disorders and addictions. Their illustrious careers span extensive experience and numerous achievements.

Dr Brett Simpson


Dr Brett Simpson is Director of ECT at Wesley Hospital in Kogarah. He is an old-age psychiatrist with extensive clinical experience in the provision of ECT, and also leads the ECT service at St George Public Hospital. He is a member of the NSW Health ECT Working Party responsible for producing state-wide ECT guidelines, and is also a member of the RANZCP Section of Electroconvulsive Therapy and Neurostimulation Committee. Dr Simpson is a conjoint lecturer at the University of New South Wales and regularly collaborates in ECT research at Wesley Hospital. He has a strong interest in ECT teaching and training, and in the maintenance of high quality ECT services

Professor John Saunders

Drug and Alcohol Program Director, Wesley Hospital Kogarah

Professor John Saunders directs our Drug and Alcohol program at our facility in Kogarah. He is a consultant physician in internal medicine, and a specialist in addiction medicine and public health. He qualified in pharmacology and medicine at the University of Cambridge, and now has over 35 years’ experience in management of alcohol and drug disorders. Professor Saunders’ extensive academic and research credentials rate him in top 0.5 % of publishing scientists in his field worldwide

Professor Saunders has worked for the World Health Organisation (WHO), and developed the alcohol use disorders identification test (AUDIT) questionnaire. He is active in professional associations and government committees, including the Australian National Council on Drugs. Professor Saunders is also a frequent speaker at professional and community forums.

Through collaboration with world leading researchers within the area of addiction disorders, Professor Saunders contributed to a new edition of Addiction Medicine through Oxford University Press. The publication is a concise and practical guide for students, practitioners of medicine and other health professionals.

Clinicians and medical professionals

Providing specialised high-quality compassionate mental health care for over half a century, for people suffering from mental illness and addictions

Stay up to date with all things Wesley Mission

I would like to receive communications from Wesley Mission?